Well, Which Disaster Do You Want First?

I think I’m back, but my heart hardly knows where to break first . . . .

Disaster #1 – Beloved minister and rescuer of teenage drug captives, David Wilkerson, has died in a car wreck. His wife, Gwen, was with him in the car and is in critical condition. He wrote The Cross and the Switchblade about his early life in New York and how it overlapped the life of Nicky Cruz. After beginning his ministry in Texas, he opened a church in an old theater in New York, where he preached and ministered to whomever dropped in, whether tramp or New York businessman. He was a real modern-day prophet and author of many books, and faithfully published and sent free newsletters (of the postage type) to all who desired to receive them. Listening to his preaching was the first occasion of awakening to the Lord’s call for one of my sons.

Disaster #2 -A beyond-enormous tornado ripped through the Deep South, leaving around 300 dead, at last count.

 Disaster #3 -One of the sweetest ladies I know in the world lost her favorite sister to that storm–the sister who stood by her when her son was murdered–gone, along with the sister’s husband.

Disaster #4 – Someone desecrated a memorial to the unborn at Clarion University in Pennsylvania. It was the usual collection of crosses depicting the enormity of the death sentence on the children of our country: 350 white crosses to commemorate the 53 million dead. But the crosses were found turned upside down (a common satanic ritual symbol), spattered with blood-colored paint, and bloody-looking infant footprints appeared on the site. Also in red, on the sidewalk was the phrase, “pro-choice”.

I’m glad to be back with fairly good service available, but cannot process what a sad day it is, out there. It makes our storm seem paltry by comparison (and I KNOW, it’s not a competition and I am glad we do not measure up.)

But tomorrow, Lord willing (I think we need to start saying that more), I will try to bring you a sweet and humorous story from our storm experience.

See ya’.

11 thoughts on “Well, Which Disaster Do You Want First?

  1. sanstorm says:

    Sorry to hear all that – I hadn’t heard that about David Wilkerson – we used to receive his newsletter after we went to his church in New York once. A long and global ministry – what a tragic end.

  2. C.H. says:

    It is painfully sad to see good people hurt. And I don’t understand the mentality of some in the pro-choice movement. But, I just wanted to say, the inverted cross isn’t the Satanic symbol they want it to be and it’s just another emblem of their ignorance to treat it as such. The inverted cross belongs to St. Peter.

    I’m sure the martyred, sainted first pope cares very deeply for the plight of the unborn.

    They think they’ve won, but all the do is remind us of the martyrs past and present.

    Evil never wins, because it’s not very creative. ((hugs))

    • Abigail Adams says:

      Yours is an interesting and refreshing perspective; I agree w/ you about not letting “them” hijack our symbols and our vocabulary. Evil wins some battles, but it will never win the war because it isn’t based in The Truth.

      • Katharine Trauger says:

        Abigail, thanks for mentioning the vocabulary. I was just thinking they are not pro-choice, God is. He says He gives us life and death and we can choose which we want. It is because of His great love for us that He urges us to choose life.

        Blessing or cursing, anyone? They choose, all right, but so do we. They choose the curse of death and we choose the blessing of life. Really, it hardly seems like a choice. Who, in her right mind, would choose cursings and death?

        Unless she feared the “pro-choicers”. It really comes down to whom we fear, doesn’t it?

        • katharinetrauger says:

          Abigail Adams asked me to include this, her reply to my reply. Seems something is not working as it should in e-land. Are we surprised? Anyway, here is Abigail’s next comment, and I thank you, dear Abigail, for this input. I like it.
          “Who would choose cursings and death? It is the difference between KNOWING and BELIEVING. I know that the power company will turn off my lights if I don’t pay the bill by the due date, but if I think I can give a good enough excuse, I might be late w/ my payment. However, if I believe they will turn off my lights — I’ll pay the bill on time. So why do so many people do things they “know” better than to do? Because they don’t BELIEVE the penalty applies to them, or they can justify it when the time for reckoning comes, or they won’t get caught, or, or, or….. If i know I’ll get wet in the rain, I’ll open my umbrella before I enter the parking lot; however, if I think I can run fast enough to keep from getting wet, I’ll omit the umbrella– I know that rain will wet me, but I don’t believe that I will get wet.. Knowing and believing. We behave as we behave because we believe what we believe. Behavior ALWAYS reveals belief; it’s what people DO, not what they SAY that counts.”

    • Katharine Trauger says:

      I agree with you, C.H., that Peter would have probably been quite vocal against all this pro-DEATH business that they call pro-choice. They sure try to leave a person with very little choice, don’t they . . .
      And evil does not win where Jesus is on the throne.

  3. Renee Pettigrew says:

    It would be more accurate for them to describe themselves as pro death.. They are screaming from the rooftops “I have the right to kill my baby!!” We can’t get any lower when this is the battle cry for women, God’s choice for the loving nurturers of the family, So sad…

    • katharinetrauger says:

      You are absolutely right, Renee! Thanks for this comment and WELCOME to Home’s Cool! 🙂
      We have descended to a very low point, indeed. Sometimes, though, I think we are regaining a bit of ground in our fight with death…I hope it.

Comment! Because we want to know what you think!

