Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope

hope like a candle

Hope, Like a Candle

Hope, like the gleaming taper’s light,
Adorns and cheers our way;
And still, as darker grows the night,
Emits a brighter ray.

                                Oliver Goldsmith, The Captivity, Act II

This candlestick was in my mother’s bedroom when she was a young girl. She told of forgetting to blow it out at bedtime, once, and nearly burning the house down. Scorch is still visible on it, in places.

We must always be cautious about hope, not to let it burn too long without checking on it. Let’s always remember the purpose of hope is to lead us to something better. Let’s never merely hope for hope’s sake.

It’s all about follow-through. Yes, hope lights the darkness, but those who sleep don’t need it.

16 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope

  1. iamnotshe says:

    Oh my goodness! How scary … burning the house down. I love the picture though! The circumstance — not so much! I thought you said you could see scotch on it!

    Yes, you are right as usual … must always work on Hope. Have had my slump in the last few days … feeling more hopeful — reaching out, embracing others. So many of us need extra hugs … even when we’re not asking for them. I’m offerin!!!! 😉 xoxoxox m

    • katharinetrauger says:

      😀 SCOR-RCH. Ha! It used to terrify me to think of it when she told me this story when I was little, but her purpose was to scare me into being careful with fire and not leaving candles unattended. It worked. A little terror is appropriate, I think. And I always love extra hugs! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by! ❤

  2. iamnotshe says:

    Oh, and btw, i’ve started on your landscape pic. I have a good start. The paper is not good. I don’t like the way the paint absorbs into the paper. It sits on top, and it looks rather blah. I’ll keep layering the paint if i can. Sometimes the paper will not take that much wetness though.

    Painting isn’t all about slappin’ it around, ya know. There’s a little logic involved. YES, i can be logical xoxo m

    • katharinetrauger says:

      Wow. I am so eager to see the painting when it is done! Believe it or not, I actually know about painting with watercolors. Had a great art teacher in high school and she taught us how to soak and stretch the paper with boxing tape on a board, and how to use water on the paper to dilute the edges for softening, etc. I just never learned how to make it LOOK like anything. Heh. 🙂

  3. Kate Kresse says:

    ” Let’s always remember the purpose of hope is to lead us to something better. Let’s never merely hope for hope’s sake.

    It’s all about follow-through. Yes, hope lights the darkness, but those who sleep don’t need it.”
    Oh Katharine…what an eloquent and important distinction. You are so right about that. We must always be cognizant that we are to be on our road home to Him. It is indeed all about follow- through.
    Wonderful post. <3–Kate

Comment! Because we want to know what you think!

