Weekly Photo Challenge: Companionable

This is my new mug.

Companionable Mug

My Companionable Mug

You can plainly see it has ice water in it and not coffee. Why have I done this?

Well, several health care professionals in my life have been after me to drink more water and less coffee. They’re wrong, of course, but what can I do?

So I’m trying. And I thought dirtying another vessel after my only cup of coffee would just be more work, I put my secondary and tertiary drinks into the same beloved mug.

Water is tertiary.

And I discovered something.

I just discovered how much loving coffee also has to do with loving the mug. This one is earthen, red clay, and hand-made by a lovely lady just up the road. And I owe her a debt of appreciation.

Why?

  • The balance of the weight of this mug is perfect, full or empty. The drink inside stays hot or cold longer than with ceramic.
  • The handle is comfortable. I can only explain that by asking you to notice the way it has an indentation for the thumb, running down its length.
  • It is not tipsy. That fact is so important when working at a desk. It has saved my life at least once.
  • The glaze is textured. It feels good in the hands.
  • It has a thin lip, as thin as glassware, preventing the spill we often get from another favorite mug.
  • The bottom is completely flat, allowing it to dry in the dishwasher with no top-rack puddles to dribble on the dishes below.
  • It is wider at the bottom than at the sides, so if I whip cream in the bottom, more pops to the top when I add coffee.

It’s just the perfect mug.

And if I have to drink water, at least it comforts me about it, reminding me of better days, and holding promise of that one cupful tomorrow.

It’s like a friend.

If you need to drink more water, maybe making friends with a companionable mug will help you, too? Think?

16 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Companionable

    • Katharine Trauger says:

      Hmm. Equal amounts, maybe? 😉
      Thanks for your comments, Karen! Sorry this reply took awhile. Found you in spam again. What gives!
      Actually, I’ve always drunk more water than coffee. This was just a spoof. Glad you enjoyed it. 🙂
      Glad you like the mug.

Comment! Because we want to know what you think!

