Posted in Blessings of Habit, Food, Health, Inspiring

Weekly Photo Challenge – Lunchtime!!! Mmm!!!

Lunchtime
Swai Filet on Morrow Squash – Lunchtime

What to have for lunch – the eternal question.

Spending my daytime often solo, I have devised the plan I love:

Cook a decent supper, and then reheat for lunch the next day.

Our supper last night was sublime. If I do say so, I cannot help it. I just had to try this combo. I could not stop myself.

The results?

A few swai filets, breaded in egg, almond meal, and course black pepper, sautéed in olive oil, served over a bed of hot morrow squash, al dente, in a sauce of winter onions braised in butter and sour cream, with swai pan glazings and a skif of cayenne stirred in.

We nearly foundered.

But “nearly” only counts in hand grenades and horse shoes.

I got my reward, very carefully warmed over, today, with a cuppajo, or should I say, a very aromatic mug of Arkansas’ own Biff’s coffee, from which I receive no remuneration save the golden drink, itself.

Drool on, Michelle W.; I can’t help it.

Author:

Katharine is a writer, speaker, women's counselor, and professional mom. Happily married over 50 years to the same gorgeous guy. She loves cooking amazing homegrown food, celebrating grandbabies, her golden-egg-laying hennies, and watching old movies with popcorn. Her writing appears at Medium, Arkansas Women Bloggers, Contently, The Testimony Train, Taste Arkansas, Only in Arkansas, and in several professional magazines and one anthology.

39 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – Lunchtime!!! Mmm!!!

    1. Hello, Sunshine!
      Thanks for the kind words and WELCOME to Home’s Cool!
      We do love the swai fish for its mild flavor and I was surprised to learn how salty it is. I never salt it, although we are salt eaters.
      Hope you find it appealing on your table. 🙂

        1. I would not call it mushy. When fully cooked, it is flaky, separating into small chunks easily.Pan-fried in olive oil, as I prepared it, there is some oiliness, which could come from the lower heat causing it to absorb some of the olive oil, or from the natural oils in the fish; I’m not sure which. It is very moist, even when reheated in a 250 degree oven, as I did it. It does not turn out dry this way. Egg/almond-meal coating does stick, so I recommend a non-stick pan, but I have used stainless with a metal spatula with pretty good success. Not too much oil, as glazing for the sauce would leave it rather oily, unless you enjoy that as I do. Be sure to use a delicious olive oil, one that will not compete with the nutty goodness of the browned almond breading. Outside of saltiness, the flesh of the fish, itself, is not strong in flavor at all. The mildness of it allows the almond flavor to advance a bit — you are making me hungry! 🙂

          1. okay, well, i will try this fish dish. thank you so much for the followup information. i do use olive oil for cooking. it is the best.
            thank you!! i really appreciate any cooking tips as cooking, overall, is a big challenge for me. 🙂 truly.
            now i am hungry! ha ha.

    1. You are totally welcome, but I think it’s a 2-day drive and we’re having freezing rain right now . . . However, if you arrive in Little Rock airport, I’ll get you the rest of the way — promise! 🙂

    1. Good question! After researching it, I’ve learned it’s a white-fleshed, mild-flavored sort of catfish from Southeast Asia that migrates up and down rivers like a salmon, but not between salt and fresh water as they do. It is often also called “irridescent shark” for it’s appearance, but is not a shark. It is tender and moist of flesh and though new to us, is rather popular in it’s locale, and is often farm-raised as catfish are, here.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting! 🙂

Comment! Because we want to know what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.