Posted in Coffee-ism, Photos

Weekly Photo Challenge: Companionable

This is my new mug.

Companionable Mug
My Companionable Mug

You can plainly see it has ice water in it and not coffee. Why have I done this?

Well, several health care professionals in my life have been after me to drink more water and less coffee. They’re wrong, of course, but what can I do?

So I’m trying. And I thought dirtying another vessel after my only cup of coffee would just be more work, I put my secondary and tertiary drinks into the same beloved mug.

Water is tertiary.

And I discovered something.

I just discovered how much loving coffee also has to do with loving the mug. This one is earthen, red clay, and hand-made by a lovely lady just up the road. And I owe her a debt of appreciation.

Why?

  • The balance of the weight of this mug is perfect, full or empty. The drink inside stays hot or cold longer than with ceramic.
  • The handle is comfortable. I can only explain that by asking you to notice the way it has an indentation for the thumb, running down its length.
  • It is not tipsy. That fact is so important when working at a desk. It has saved my life at least once.
  • The glaze is textured. It feels good in the hands.
  • It has a thin lip, as thin as glassware, preventing the spill we often get from another favorite mug.
  • The bottom is completely flat, allowing it to dry in the dishwasher with no top-rack puddles to dribble on the dishes below.
  • It is wider at the bottom than at the sides, so if I whip cream in the bottom, more pops to the top when I add coffee.

It’s just the perfect mug.

And if I have to drink water, at least it comforts me about it, reminding me of better days, and holding promise of that one cupful tomorrow.

It’s like a friend.

If you need to drink more water, maybe making friends with a companionable mug will help you, too? Think?

Author:

Katharine is a writer, speaker, women's counselor, and professional mom. Happily married over 50 years to the same gorgeous guy. She loves cooking amazing homegrown food, celebrating grandbabies, her golden-egg-laying hennies, and watching old movies with popcorn. Her writing appears at Medium, Arkansas Women Bloggers, Contently, The Testimony Train, Taste Arkansas, Only in Arkansas, and in several professional magazines and one anthology.

16 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Companionable

    1. Hmm. Equal amounts, maybe? 😉
      Thanks for your comments, Karen! Sorry this reply took awhile. Found you in spam again. What gives!
      Actually, I’ve always drunk more water than coffee. This was just a spoof. Glad you enjoyed it. 🙂
      Glad you like the mug.

Comment! Because we want to know what you think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.